This award may be presented annually to an individual OIA member under 40 years of age by December 31 who has made significant contributions to the agriculture and food industry in this province, the profession of agrology and/or the Ontario Institute of Agrologists.

Branches OR a group of Agrologists in good-standing may nominate by completing documentation on an individual and his/her contributions. Nominations must be submitted to the OIA Registrar and supported by adequate documentation as to the character, experience and accomplishments of the nominee.

Persons to be so honoured must be elected by two-thirds majority vote of the Directors at any properly constituted meeting of the Board and the decision of the Board shall be final.

To be presented at the annual conference banquet.

Nominations are due January 15 and to be submitted to the attention of the OIA Registrar.

The following is a list of past Cheryl Somerville, P.Ag., Memorial Distinguished Young Agrologist Award recipients.

  • 2016 Raphael Adegboye, P.Ag.
  • 2012 Shawn Damen, P.Ag.
  • 2005 Crystal McKay, P.Ag.
  • 2004 Peter Coughler, P.Ag.
  • 2003 Brenda Watson, P.Ag.
  • 2002 Paul Wismer, P.Ag.
  • 2001 Betty Summerhayes, P.Ag.
  • 2000 Cheryl Russwurm, P.Ag.

Please Email Us for any errors and omissions.

Back to Awards & Nominations